Kicking and Screaming

Kicking and screaming. 

That pretty much sums up how I got here.  Dragged into the 21st century by my family.  If it wasn’t for them, I wouldn’t have a cell phone, dvd player, laptop, or anything new and shiny. 

And now, here I am making my first attempt at blogging.  I’ve journaled off and on my whole life, mostly off, but this…this is a horse of a different color.  My journals were private and I always shredded or burned them after a little while because I hated the thought that I might die in some terrible freak accident and someone would read them after I was gone.  I wasn’t so much afraid they would be shocked or angry or sad or disappointed.  I was afraid they would laugh!  Try and tell me you don’t feel the same.  Don’t lie to me.

I suppose it’s not all that unusual.  My Grandmother burned years and years of diaries when she got older, because she was afraid that someone would read them after she died.  It’s too bad, too, because those diaries were a wealth of information.  She could pull out an old diary and tell you who was where, when, with whom, and doing what on any particular day going back decades.

Electronic Journaling.  I would say it’s a new wave, but since that only applies to me, I guess it’s my new wave. 

Let’s just hope it’s not a tsunami.

This entry was posted in Family and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

