It’s Official!!

St. Paddy’s Day has come and gone, and as of yesterday it is Officially Spring! Unofficially, well……..

While 18 degrees at 2:00 in the afternoon is not exactly my idea of spring, it was at least sunny, which for some reason reminded me that I need to get over to the hardware store to buy seed potatoes soon. If I leave it too long there will be left only the wizened little rejects that no self-respecting potato-farmer-wannabe wanted.

Last year I didn’t have a garden, I had a broken ankle instead. It was different, but not as much fun. So this year I am extra excited about starting my garden. I’ve got the hardware store catalog and have been thumbing through it like a woman possessed. Garden tools, seeds, lawn décor, patio furniture, barbeque equipment. All the trappings of summer. I feel like pinning all the photos up over my desk to keep inspired! I do have a Pinterest board with my “Garden Wishes”. You can see it here: http://pinterest.com/thegrassharpist/garden-wishes/

Since I am a renter, I can’t just dig up the whole back yard and go all out, a la Tom and Barbara Good, but thankfully, there is a solution. A community garden is just on the edge of town, and I want to be part of it. It has been in operation for just one year, and it’s filling up fast. The ground is tilled, there is water available in case it doesn’t rain, and I believe there is even a porta-potty so folks don’t have to schlepp back into town in their dusty overalls and muddy boots just to use the facility.

I heard that benches and a picnic table might be set up so folks have a place to sit and rest from their labors, or eat a sack lunch. Of course, I might just have made up that last bit. But, it’s a nice bit, isn’t it? I’ll have to see if I can get that on my gardening agenda.

So, what’s on your gardening agenda?

This entry was posted in Garden and Home and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It’s Official!!

  1. Pingback: Seeds, Soil, and Worm Poop . . . | jellyonacracker

Leave a Reply

