YOU FOOL!!

For the past week I’ve been actively researching the most up-to-date information of today’s significance in modern history. In other words, I’ve been spending beaucoup time fooling around on the internet looking for April Fool’s jokes. But, I’ve come up against a little stumbling block.

Here’s the problem, I’m not much of one for pulling these things off very well. I’m usually the “jokee” rather than the “joker”. I am always amazed by how good some people are at fooling others. Well, fooling me, mostly. Call it innocence or naivete, I have been fooled by not only the best of them, but also by the just so-so of them. I can never seem to get past the so-so level of April Foolery myself, so I won’t be giving you any tips, tricks, tidbits, or trade secrets to get you into the “Best Of” category.

Instead, I will share a few of my personal favorites perpetrated by other individuals and entities:

The “Taco Liberty Bell”
The “Left-Handed Whopper” from Burger King
BBC broadcast of “Swiss Spaghetti Trees”
Yorkshire Water’s “Diet Water”
NASA – “Water on Mars” (involving a glass of water and a Mars bar…figure it out)

(I just noticed….see how those all involve food? That’s because I haven’t had my breakfast yet. I’m hungry!! Just like you should never go shopping when you are hungry, you should never post when you are hungry or it becomes all about food! Or the lack thereof!)

Okay, I’ll quit foolin’ around (that there’s a joke!) and get on with it.

Since I’ve established I’m not much of a practical joker, I will leave you with some quotes about fools and foolishness. I haven’t included the authors of these sayings because over time some have been attributed to more than one person. How foolish! Here ya go . . .

~ Better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to speak out and remove all doubt.

~ A fool thinks himself to be wise, but a wise man knows himself to be a fool.

~ A fool flatters himself, a wise man flatters the fool.

~ A fool and his money are soon elected.

~ Better a witty fool than a foolish wit.

~ Any fool can make a rule and any fool will mind it.

And, last, but not least, my #1 personal favorite:

~ A mother takes twenty years to make a man of her boy, and another woman twenty minutes to make a fool of him.

Happy April Fool’s Day!

This entry was posted in Holiday, Quotes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

