DID YOU KNOW?….APRIL IS GRILLED CHEESE MONTH!!

I was looking around on the internet for grilled cheese sandwich recipes and discovered that April is National Grilled Cheese Sandwich Month!! I love that my very favorite comfort food has it’s very own month! Grilled cheese and tomato soup….a classic combo beloved the world over. I can’t think of any place that doesn’t have some sort of hot sandwich with a slice or two of cheese in it. Many countries that are renowned for their cheeses are also renowned for their cheese sandwiches (or sammiches, if you prefer).

And so, in the interests of gastronomic research, and my frank desire for that delicious, melty, ooey, gooey, toasty, cheesy goodness, I am devoting myself to finding some grilled cheese sandwich recipes in April. It may be just different breads or cheeses, or some special additions to the basic sandwich, or new methods of preparing it. The possibilities are endless. I could pair my new creations with different soups. Or try Cheeses From Around The World!! I feel a road trip coming on!!

In celebration of the humble GCS, and to give me a starting base, I first offer my own every-day ordinary method of sandwich making. The ingredients are simple, as are the directions:

1.)Deluxe sliced American cheese – the old-fashioned kind that is NOT wrapped in its own little plastic raincoat – 1 slice, 2 if you don’t mind it running down your chin like a mini-flow of burning hot yellow lava when you’re too impatient to let it cool down. That happens to you guys, too, right? Right?!
2.)White bread, 2 slices. A nice whole grain white bread if you can. If not, just a plain white bread will do. Yes, I know how bad white bread is for you, but I like it and find it works best. For me. So far.
3.)Butter (softened) or margarine.

Heat a small frying pan over medium to medium-high heat (sometimes I use my little electric thrift-store-special single sandwich maker, aka “sandwich squasher”). While the pan is heating, butter one side of the bread slices. Put one slice of bread in the pan, buttered side down. Top with 1 or 2 slices of cheese. Top with the remaining lice of bread, buttered side up.
When the bottom of the sandwich is toasted to your liking, flip the sandwich over and toast the other side. When you have toasted the other side, slide the whole thing onto a plate and cut in half diagonally.

This is very important!! Don’t ask me why, it just is! It must be cut diagonally!! Someday I’ll tell you the story of my mother, my grandmother, and the 3 Peanut Butter and Jelly Sandwiches, but now’s not the time. Later, I promise.

Once the sandwich is on the plate and cut diagonally, dig in! If you’ve had the foresight to make some tomato soup, it is perfectly acceptable to dip a corner of the sandwich into your soup before you eat it. The beautiful red soup dribbles and blends with the burning hot cheese on your chin resulting in a more realistic looking lava flow.

Oh, go ahead. Ask me how I know.

Up next, “The Big Cheesy”. Stay tuned.

This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

