The Kid Came Home….

First of all…Happy “Kiss And Make Up” Day!!

It’s real. Really.  A day devoted to kissing and making up.  I don’t know how it started, but it sounds like a good idea.  Call up someone you’ve had a little tiff with and get started with the making up and the kissing.  I wouldn’t go so far as to actually make kissy-noises into the phone, but that’s just me.  Anyway…..

My bambino came home for a visit this month.  He was here for almost 2 weeks and, as usual, it sped by far too quickly.  We had a lot of fun visiting old haunts and some new places that are bound to become old favorites.  He hooked up with a lot of old friends and made some new, and saw all the family.

I managed to take a few pictures, and wish I had taken more.  It’s always the same.  I get caught up in the moment and forget to save it for posterity.  Ah, well.  It’s saved in my memory.  But all the same, I like having something to show folks. 

First thing The Kid wanted to do was see the sunrise over Lake Michigan.  It wasn’t quite the crack of dawn, but near enough for me to still be yawning.  And it was overcast, so the sun was just peeping out between clouds from time to time.  This was the best we were going to get…..

Sunrise over Lake Michigan

Sunrise over Lake Michigan

He spent the first week catching up with family and friends, then we went up to Door County.  Sturgeon Bay was our first stop.  We found a coffee shop neither of us had been to, had a little breakfast, then headed out onto Third Avenue.  It was overcast and ended up raining a little later, but we were safe for now. 

3rd Ave. before the rain

3rd Ave. before the rain

The plan was to walk up one side of the avenue and down the other, stopping anywhere that looked interesting (note to self: CAUTION!!  It ALL looks interesting!!) 

My new favorite place was one of the first stops.  A wonderful used bookstore I had not been in before. 

"Untitled", bookstore in Sturgeon Bay....new favorite!

“Untitled”, bookstore in Sturgeon Bay….new favorite!

This shop, “Untitled”, is a booklover’s dream come true.  Thousands and thousands and thousands of books!  Rare, antique, out of print, you name it, they have it or can get it for you.   We spent a fair amount of time looking around but eventually had to leave as we still had many more shops to visit.  We could have spent all day there!

Next stop was next door to the bookstore – Door County Candy, where The Kid got himself a little something to munch on while we kept shopping.

The Kid at the candy store

The Kid at the candy store

There is another candy store, Door County Confectioners, down the street a little way and of course we stopped in there as well.  We had a good look around, drooled a bit, and forgot to take a picture.  Again.   I still can’t make up my mind which candy store I like best, so I’ll need to go back at some future date for further “research”.  Ahem. 

On we went….gift shops, clothing shops, the playhouse, cafes, art galleries.  We stopped at most of them for a while, at some for a while longer, particularly when we were dodging raindrops.   Eventually, our walk around 3rd Ave. ended and it was time to head further north. 

Next was Grandma Tommy’s, just north of Sturgeon Bay.  They let you taste yummy things at Grandma Tommy’s.  So I taste…and taste.  I’ve been there a couple times and always find something I just can’t live without.  This time it was the Key Lime Honey Mustard Dip. 

Oh, my giddy aunt!

After I’d had a taste (or four), I immediately proceeded to tell all and sundry, whoever sundry are, that it was so good I could eat it with a spoon.  Because it IS and I could!!

Here is the front of the Key Lime Honey Mustard Dip jar…

Drool-worthy mustard dip

Drool-worthy mustard dip

Here is the back of the jar…

Where'd it all go?!

Where’d it all go?!

After Grandma Tommy’s it was on to Fish Creek.  I managed to snap a couple photos, but can’t for the life of me remember the names of some of these places….

Fish Creek shop

Fish Creek shop

DSCN8664

More to see over here

Surf's Up on Lake Michigan!

Surf’s Up on Lake Michigan!

We did a lot of window shopping, sampled some great flavored olive oils and balsamic vinegars (yum and double yum!!) in The Barrel Room at Cooper’s Corner, then it was “Home again, home again, jiggedy jig”.

A wonderful day spent with my wonderful son.  (waves madly…Hello Wonderful Son!!!)

A good time was had by all.

*<]:o)

This entry was posted in Family, Food and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

