WET WHISTLE WINE FEST 2013

Last weekend was the 12th Annual Wet Whistle Wine Fest in my little corner of the world. Friday evening and all day Saturday it was nothing but wine, music, art, and food.  For a small town there was, as always, a great turnout!

Here’s a little “po’ di mu” for your listening pleasure (btw, are there any “Lucia” fans out there?).

It was my second year volunteering with the local Farm Market Kitchen for their fundraiser.  Last year I was just getting over a badly broken ankle so I stayed inside the kitchen where I could have a chance to get off my feet every now and then.  But I missed all the fun.  This year, I helped out in the food booth and LOVED it!! 

First, on Friday we put together cheese and fruit boxes.   There were four locally made cheeses and a couple varieties of grapes all nestled in lettuce cups and served in clamshell boxes.   I’ve mentioned before that I often forget to take photos of things I am doing.  This was one of those times.  The boxes came out so pretty, and you-know-who forgot to take a picture!

Saturday morning got off to a great start.  The weather cooperated by sending us clear skies, a warm sun, and gentle breezes.  As I walked onto the grounds at 10:00 a.m. there were some early arrivals milling about, anxious for the festivities to begin. 

The Annie Rose Band was onstage and they were fabulous.  The food booth was way in the back, so I didn’t see much of Annie or her band, but I heard plenty!  No one could resist tapping their toes or swaying their hips to the music.  We were all enjoying just standing and listening, but soon the hungry hordes arrived and we were hoppin’!

Some of customers had already been to the wine tasting at the winery and other booths, and arrived bearing wine and souvenirs:

Cool shades!

Cool shades!

I want one of these!

I want one of these!

We served them cheese boxes, fresh baked bread with herb butter, 3 types of brats and sausages, shredded beef merlot subs, 3 kinds of cheesecake, cheese nachos, and hot coffee. 

Can we eat now?!

Can we eat now?!

Mmm-mmm-good!

STOMP!

STOMP!

Pretty soon the Grape Stomping contests started and while the crowds were watching, I managed to sneak out from behind counter and snap a picture. 

Grape Stompers

Grape Stompers

2 minutes of stompin’ grapes in a barrel in front of the crowd.  Gets you loads of laughs and purple feet!!  The juice from the squished grapes is measured to determine a winner.  There are several heats and a final “Stomp Off”, and prizes for the winners at the end of the day. 

I wonder if the “purplest feet” would get a prize?  That’s probably the best I’d do.

After two days of working in the kitchen and behind the counter, I was pretty much done.  I wandered around a bit, tasted some wines, and enjoyed more of the music, this time by “The Groove Hogs”, back for a reunion concert.  AND!!!…I remembered to take pictures: 

Two Tutus

Nuns having fun!

Nuns having fun!

Merry Monks at Wine Fest

Merry Monks at Wine Fest

Wine Bottle Boogie

Wine Bottle Boogie

Wine, women (and men!), and song.

A good time was had by all!

This entry was posted in Food, Weekend Edition and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

