A Big Chill

We’re gearing up for a big chill in the upper midwest.  Last night the wind was howling and hurling itself at the house like a sumo wrestler attacking his opponent.  The windows were rattling so much I was very afraid they’d shatter into eleventy-jillion pieces.  I was running around half the night checking for cracks in the glass because I just KNEW I’d be sweeping up all eleventy-jillion pieces before morning.

Finally, the wind died down some, and I was able to relax and go to sleep. But guess what I have to look forward to?  Yep, more wind.  And to make it even tastier, some more snow and a bit of a dip in the temperature.  In another day or so, the overnight temps will drop to about 15 below zero with wind chills of 40 to 50 below!  I probably won’t notice the cold because I’ll be keeping warm.

Running.

Running around the house.

Running around the house checking to see that the pipes aren’t freezing. Running in and out of the bathroom to check if the water in the tub is running (the only thing that should be running and it quits at the least little hint of arctic weather!)   Running down to the basement with a hairdryer to thaw any frozen bathtub pipes. Running back upstairs to turn off the tub faucet once the water is running again.

That’s a heck of a lot of running.  I don’t like running.  I’d rather do something else.

Maybe instead of all that running I could dance during the big chill.  Maybe something like this:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=86GA4JnW7x4

I can chill out and stay warm all at the same time!!  Sounds like a plan to me!

Where ever you are, stay toasty.  Or chill out.  Or both!

This entry was posted in Garden and Home, Nature, Weekend Edition and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Big Chill

  1. Pingback: And Not A Drop To Drink | jellyonacracker

Leave a Reply

