First You Burn It . . .

It’s early.  Not yet dawn.  And I decide I want to have some tea and toast to start my day. 

I grab the bread and put two slices in the toaster.  While they’re toasting, I get out the electric kettle and fill it with water and plug it in.  So far, so good.

Then the toast pops up and it is way too pale for my liking.  It looks like it was passed over a candle once on each side, so back into the toaster goes for another minute.  Now, I’ll just get out a cup, the Earl Grey, a spoon, and . . . wait!  What’s that smell?!

Burnt toast!!  I hate burnt toast with all those nasty little carcinogens!

What to do, what to do?

Aha!! (I often have “aha” moments, although I more often have  those annoying “senior” moments…ask my family)

Anyway.

Aha!! I’ll make “Grandma Grimm’s Toast”.

Grandma Grimm’s Toast” was invented when my own grandma was having her third child, my Uncle John.  Her other two children, my Mom and my Uncle Dick, were at home being cared for by her mother-in-law, Mrs. Grimm (who really WAS grim!).

When my grandma got home and back on her feet, she was making breakfast one day and Uncle Dick asked her to make toast the way Grandma Grimm made it.  How did Grandma Grimm make toast?  Uncle Dick explained, “First she burns it, then she scrapes it off.”

Grandma Grimm’s Toast.  A (not-so-) favorite family recipe, handed down through generations.

Scrape, scrape, scrape.

Music to scrape your burnt toast by:

 

This entry was posted in Aging, Family, Food and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

