Hot Diggedy (Corn)Dog!!

Saturday was National Corndog Day!!! 

I recently came across the National Corndog Day website and I was hooked!  Quite simply, every once in a while I get a violent craving to have a corndog!  I had my first one at the Los Angeles County Fair way (way, way) back in the early 70’s.  Paired it with a cup of freshly squeezed and sweetened lemonade and I was over the moon!! (The L.A. County Fair now even has a blog called “Hot Blog On A Stick”!  )

Once I found the NCD website, I checked around and found out that the largest hot dog chain in the world, Wienerschnitzel (they have great chili dogs!), was having a special: 2 corndogs for $1.00.  And I missed it! 

Now that I know corndogs have THEIR OWN DAY you can bet your sweet bippy I was celebratin’!  It was a last-minute decision, so I didn’t get anything too fancy.  Only the basics.  And if you want to celebrate National Corndog Day next March, you’ll need just a few things:

You’ll need some corndogs, naturally.

 DSCN9463

some tater tots (remember, mom always says to eat your veggies and I say taters are veggies!)

 DSCN9464

and some Pabst Blue Ribbon Beer (traditional, according to the NCD website) or your beverage of choice; I chose lemonade for nostalgia (see above).

 DSCN9477

Now, you’re supposed to be watching this weekend’s college basketball while consuming all this fair fare, but I watched the Britcoms instead.  The menfolk were gone, it was girls night in, and mom had the remote! 

Life is good.

This entry was posted in Food, Holiday, Weekend Edition and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

