Three Peas in a Pot

Okay, make that three thousand peas. Split peas. And some carrots, onion, a couple of seasonings, plenty of water and a source of heat. Wait impatiently for a few hours and you have yummy split pea soup. That’s what I did last night. Especially the impatient part.

I’d been on a cemetery crawl yesterday afternoon and on my way home I saw a flock of wild turkeys in a field. Went home quick to get my camera (because, as usual, I didn’t have it with me) and grabbed a few snaps. Of course, by the time I got back to the field those turkeys had moved farther back and the photos came out blurry and pretty much unrecognizable as turkeys. You’ll have to squint a bit and use your imagination a lot. But trust me…those are turkeys.

More Turkey Shoot Turkey Shoot

After my “turkey shoot”, I came home and wondered what in the world I was going to have for dinner. Soup came to mind first thing, and a good thing, too! It’s been getting colder here in N.E.W. (North East Wisconsin), and soup would absolutely hit the spot! Last week I made a cheater’s version of Cheesy Cream of Broccoli soup by using canned cream of celery as a base. I still have some broccoli in the fridge and another can of base, but I wanted something different. So, out came the split peas, etc.

One advantage of cooking soup, or anything, from scratch at this time of year is that it warms up your outsides as well as your insides. It wasn’t too long before the kitchen got all lovely warm and steamy. And the tempting odors issuing forth from the gently bubbling pot assured me of a dinner worth the wait.

I have no recipe for my homemade split pea soup. I used what I had on hand, and was perfectly content with the results. I will say that instead of diced celery I used celery salt, and I had to omit the ham because I didn’t have either of those ingredients. But it was okay without them.

I have enough split pea soup for a couple more meals. Just enough so I won’t tire of it before it is all gone. But it has me thinking…what will I make next?

Any ideas?

This entry was posted in Food, Nature and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

